Beautiful Writing from Ireland

Irish writing

At a museum in Ireland, I was struck by the beautiful writing found in a journal. The picture is blurry (taken through glass with a handheld video camera..) but you can still see the care that was taken to form each letter. Even the spacing is perfect. Typing isn’t the same – I often type, delete, type, delete. Forming a well thought sentence and putting it down to paper is not something we do anymore. I remember my high school English teacher telling me to just sit down and type, leaving mistakes and not deleting any of the original thoughts. I argued with him about that a lot – I wanted to get the thought right to begin with and so to this day, I type and delete. I wonder if, in a different time, that process would have occurred entirely in my head.

One thought on “Beautiful Writing from Ireland

What do you think?

